ANDROID-IFIED WITH THE NOTE 2


So for Christmas I got myself a new toy. Been wanting to change my phone (SE Vivaz Pro) for a few weeks now since I’ve had it for two years already and some of its keys are starting to get real effed up already.

I’m not a big fan of the iPhone. Well maybe the very first one, but the current incarnations (specially the iPhone5), look like bar soaps. They just don’t look sleek enough. Don’t get me wrong, I’m an Apple fan and I just love my iPad 2, but the iPhone just doesn’t feel right for me.

So I got myself the Samsung Galaxy Note 2 instead. Under the Globe Postpaid Plan 1,799 plus a cash out of Php4,800 under a 24 month contract, I get unlimited data and other freebies. I chose Globe because I’ve never had a problem with their signal before or any of their other services despite them having sucky customer service.

Image

I’ve been using my new baby for a week now, and I must say the Galaxy Note 2 is a pretty powerful device. Its processing power is fast and its functionalities are perfect for power users. Add that with an unli data plan and you are going to feel the fun of it all!

Despite its gargantuan size (I believe that a very niche market can appreciate it), it works really well for me. I am partial to phones with a full tactile QWERTY keyboard, but typing on the Note 2 is actually pretty easy and a breeze for my stubby fingers. Plus the S Pen (stylus) makes work life so much easier! It is a challenge to use it all the time but when taking quick work notes it beats the crap out of typing on a device! Plus it has the best handwriting recognition tech I’ve seen so far and that’s saying something because my handwriting ain’t as pretty as John Hancock’s.

Comparing Android with iOS, I pretty much still love iOS. It is sleeker to use than Android. It took me three days to be well acquainted with how Android works compared to the 30 minutes it took me to master iOS. Put simply, iOS is simpler and less hassling to use. Although Android is pretty flexible, I just wish they can make it just as simple as iOS to use. Plus I think iOS has prettier apps in my opinion.

My biggest complaint about the Note 2 is probably its battery life. With the Mobile Data option turned on,as well as Power Saving and the brightness level kept at a bare minimum, the battery barely lasts a day. I just wish there was a way that I can enjoy the device better without worrying that it might die on me any moment without having to resort to bringing an extra battery or charger all the time.

All in all I think having the Note 2 is a pretty solid investment. If you’re a power user, then this is definitely for you. Beats lugging around a separate tablet wherever you go. If you plug it in a monitor and use a bluetooth keyboard, this could pretty much compete against a basic PC! Bigger really is better with the Note 2’s case.

Leave a Reply

